A Lesson: Runner’s Mistake

If you’re someone that’s been following my running journey, then you know I haven’t been running for long. In fact, this is the first time I’ve decided to run at all and have successfully gotten to 4 miles, in less than a month. How did I do that? By going to the gym everyday and running for as long as I could. (Talk about dedication – I’ve never seen something like this from myself). Yesterday, that didn’t go so well.

Mile 1 went as smoothly as ever, actually feeling like it flew by. Mile 2 was a bit slower, but for me that was expected, so I kept going. By mile 3, my knee felt weird. It felt loose and gooey, like jello. I thought this was strange but still, I kept going. Note: I’m very competitive by nature so if I have a goal I HAVE to finish it. By the time I was approaching the end, my knee felt VERY jello-y and I had to walk, or limp, the rest of the mile.

Walking to the car was another story, with me using essentially one leg to walk.

At home, it was almost back to normal but the sting of occasional pain/ gooeyness was still there.

One day later, it aches. It definitely still aches and I don’t know if I’m going to be able to run today.

The lesson learned? Don’t go for the whole pie at once. Go for a slice at a time. It tastes better that way. But in running terms, set small, achievable goals at first. Going for that big finish right away leads to burnout and energy, and just hating the thing altogether. Don’t learn it the hard way.

So yeah, stay tuned for more running tidbits and my failures that you can learn from 🙂

Leave a Reply

