Saying “I love You”, Making Amends

[This is a post about (me) making amends ]

It’s important to tell people how you feel. We often forget to tell the people closest to us a simple “i love you”…

… probably because it’s not that simple.

Today I realized that in THIS sense, I’m a horrible person. Example A, I have never told my parents that I love them, because I can’t say those three little words a loud. Sure, I’ve told other people, but not them. It’s weird, it just doesn’t roll off the tongue. Obviously, they know, but it would probably be nice to just say it once in a while. This is my mission for the week. Plus I’m curious to see how they would respond. In all honesty they would probably assumeĀ that something really bad happened.

Also, since my day one (almost literally) I have had my primary best friend. That sounds really weird, but our parents met at a playground and we have called each other our second halves since then. However then I moved over seas when I was 7 and we kind of lost contact. We would call each other maybe once a month and occasionally send a letter. As we got older, though, staying in touch became harder since we both started doing our own things. My parents were all about that school life and her parents were all about that modeling life (cultural differences, man). I would see her once a year for a day in the summer – that’s all we got. With the rise of technology, it was a little easier to drop in a few words here and there, but it was still hard since seeing someone once a year isn’t exactly how you stay close. Well last year (2014) I was the one who was the worst at staying in touch. I didn’t make plans to see her, so it has now been a year and a half. TODAY, it is her birthday (exactly six months after mine, let me point out #MeantToBe) and I am making amends on this beautiful day. I am reaching out and wishing her the best birthday a girl can ask for. She is the most beautiful person, inside and out, that I have met and I hope that everyone is lucky enough to have someone as amazing as her to call their best friend. We don’t see each other much, but when we do, it’s like we are 7 all over again and nothing in the world matters but us.

It’s important to tell the people close to you that you love them. Even if they know, just drop it in there, remind them. Love is a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

